Arkansas Area Code – List And Maps

Arkansas is served by three telephone Arkansas Area Code: 479, 501, and 870. In 1947, when the North American Numbering Plan was first implemented, then the entire Arkansas state was assigned area code 501. Arkansas was relatively populated.

This system worked well until 1997 when area code 501 ran the risk of using phone numbers. Arkansas Area Code 870 was created in April 1997 to serve most rural parts of the state (originally Little Rock Metro, Fort Smith, or Northwest Arkansas). In January 2002, the area code was broken from 479 501, giving Fort Smith and Northwest Arkansas their own area codes.

Arkansas Area Code

The following three area codes serve Arkansas:

  • 479, which serves Northwest Arkansas including Fort Smith and Fayetteville
  • 501, which serves the Little Rock area and central Arkansas
  • 870, which serves eastern and southern Arkansas as well as parts of northern Arkansas, including the Pine Bluff, Jonesboro, Texarkana and Memphis suburbs.

What Is Area Code?

Area Code Is A three-digit code that Finds one of the telephone areas into which the U.S. and other countries are divided and that is the local telephone number when dialing a call between areas.

Why are area codes added?

Area codes are added when the current number expires.

In North America, each area code has a potential capacity of about 8 million unique phone numbers. Increased use of cellular phones, modems, and Internet access may require existing telephone number resources, additional area codes may be required, according to Nestar.


Once the new area code starts being assigned, there is usually a six-month period of transition, where customers are encouraged, but not required, to use the new code, but seven-digit. Dialing is allowed. After six months, callers are required to use the appropriate area code and telephone number.

Arkansas Area Code

Other Countries Area Code

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *