Arizona Area Codes, Current Area Code Of Arizona

Arizona currently uses 5 Arizona Area Codes. When first established by AT&T and Bell Systems in 1947, 602 covered the entire state of Arizona. The most recent addition was 928 in 2001. Today, 928 is the state’s most populous, with an estimated 2.1 million of 6.4 million residents.

Arizona Area Codes

602 – Phoenix is ​​appropriate for telephone numbers in the city except for Ahwatuki and some western parts of the city.

520 – Southern Arizona, including Tucson, Nogales, Casa Grande, and Tombstone.

480– Maricopa County and parts of Pinal County, east of Phoenix city limits and Phoenix neighborhoods of Ahwatukee. Includes Mesa, Scottsdale, Tempe, Chandler, Gilbert, Queen Creek, San Tan, Apache Junction, and Fountain Hills.

623 – Maricopa County, west of Phoenix city limits and some western parts of the city. Including Glendale, Goodyear, Avondale, Tolleson, Buckeye, Sun City, Litchfield Park, Surprise, and Peoria City.

928 – Northern Arizona and Western Arizona, including Yuma, Flagstaff, Grand Canyon, Passon, Prescott, Lake Havasu City, Bullhead City, Kingman, and Beaver Dam / Littlefield.

What Is Area Code?

Area Code Is A three-digit code that Finds one of the telephone areas into which the U.S. and other countries are divided and that is the local telephone number when dialing a call between areas.

Why are area codes added?

Area codes are added when the current number expires.

In North America, each area code has a potential capacity of about 8 million unique phone numbers. Increased use of cellular phones, modems, and Internet access may require existing telephone number resources, additional area codes may be required, according to Nestar.


Once the new area code starts being assigned, there is usually a six-month period of transition, where customers are encouraged, but not required, to use the new code, but seven-digit. Dialing is allowed. After six months, callers are required to use the appropriate area code and telephone number.


  • Originally, Arizona had only one Arizona Area Codes: 602.
  • In 1995, the state of Arizona was divided into two Arizona Area Codes. Maricopa County retained Area Code 602, and the rest of the state adopted Area Code 520.
  • In 1999, Maricopa County was divided into area codes 602, 480 and 623
  • In 2001, the state outside Maricopa County was divided into northern and southern parts. The southern half area code 520, and the northern half area code 928 were assigned.
Arizona Area Codes

Other Area Codes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *